User avatar
zag
Site Admin
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:43 am

Re: TheAudioDBSync Support Thread

Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:03 am

Thanks!

I gave it a quick test on Michael Jackson using "rateyourmusic", but don't quite understand the logic.

When I enable "Download ratings from a specialist user" does it grab the specialist user ratings? Or does use the "username" rating?

I tried without a null username but it errors with "username not set".

Maybe we can remove that check when the "Download ratings from a specialist user" is enabled so its clear what is being downloaded?

User avatar
zag
Site Admin
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:43 am

Re: TheAudioDBSync Support Thread

Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:07 am

Oh and how do I interpret the log?

Code: Select all

DOWNLOAD|ALBUM|Michael Jackson|Immortal|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|ALBUM|Michael Jackson|Bad|9|10|Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|ALBUM|Michael Jackson|Dangerous|9|7|Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|ALBUM|Michael Jackson|Invincible|7|5|Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|ALBUM|Michael Jackson|Music & Me|6|5|Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|ALBUM|Michael Jackson|Off the Wall|7|8|Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|ALBUM|Michael Jackson|The Ultimate Collection|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|ALBUM|Michael Jackson|Thriller|9|9|Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|ALBUM|Michael Jackson|Xscape|6|6|Rating unchanged

User avatar
robwebset
Site Mod
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: TheAudioDBSync Support Thread

Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:49 pm

zag wrote:Oh and how do I interpret the log?


Does it not have a header? - should be:

'OPERATION|AREA|ARTIST|TITLE|OLD or TOTAL RATING|NEW RATING|RESULT'

Disabling the username is trickier than it sounds - it was sort of designed that the username must always be set before anything will start.

Rob

User avatar
zag
Site Admin
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:43 am

Re: TheAudioDBSync Support Thread

Tue Oct 31, 2017 9:59 am

So should I add my own username and then try one of the pre-defined usernames as well?

Sorry, its hard to test without knowing which logic the Add-on is taking :)

User avatar
robwebset
Site Mod
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: TheAudioDBSync Support Thread

Tue Oct 31, 2017 10:08 am

zag wrote:So should I add my own username and then try one of the pre-defined usernames as well?

Sorry, its hard to test without knowing which logic the Add-on is taking :)


My thinking was that the first page where you enter the username, you'd always put the username for your own account on theaudiodb.com

Then on the library section you can get the download of the rates to be from one of the "specialist" accounts by selecting it. This may be just a single shot that you want in order to get a "set of ratings" that you then disable (after doing a resync) and start using your own rating ontop of these base ratings - after you've done one of the updates with these "specialist" ratings you would then switch back to the standard upload/download behaviour.

Rob

User avatar
zag
Site Admin
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:43 am

Re: TheAudioDBSync Support Thread

Tue Oct 31, 2017 2:53 pm

I think I found the bug that was confusing me :)

The pop summary at the end says 0 albums updated, but the result updates the single test album with the score.

Unfortunately the score seems to be for my "zag" username, not the specialist user I have selected. In this case "rateyourmusic".

Testing with a single album (Foo Fighters - Sonic Highways). Settings set to only downloading album ratings.

Summary:

Code: Select all

OPERATION|AREA|ARTIST|TITLE|OLD or TOTAL RATING|NEW RATING|RESULT
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|Something From Nothing||10|Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|The Feast And The Famine||10|Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|Congregation|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|What Did I Do?/God As My Witness|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|Outside|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|In The Clear|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|Subterranean|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|I Am A River|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|ALBUM|Foo Fighters|Sonic Highways||8|Rating updated


The rating downloaded is 8 which is what my "zag" user rated it at
The actual rating should be 5 which is what "rateyourmusic" user rated it at.

EDIT: the album has no MusicBrainz ID's, would that cause a difference?

User avatar
robwebset
Site Mod
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: TheAudioDBSync Support Thread

Tue Oct 31, 2017 6:52 pm

Hi Zag,

I tried it with the same album and things seem to work OK:

Code: Select all

OPERATION|AREA|ARTIST|TITLE|OLD or TOTAL RATING|NEW RATING|RESULT
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|Something From Nothing|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|The Feast And The Famine|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|Congregation|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|What Did I Do?/God As My Witness|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|Outside|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|In The Clear|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|Subterranean|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|TRACK|Foo Fighters|I Am A River|||Rating unchanged
DOWNLOAD|ALBUM|Foo Fighters|Sonic Highways|7|5|Rating updated


And looking in the log file it seems OK as well:

Code: Select all

18:43:07.801 T:9692   DEBUG: script.theaudiodb.sync: getDownloadInfoUsername: Using username rateyourmusic for ratings download
18:43:07.801 T:9692   DEBUG: script.theaudiodb.sync: makeCall: Making query using http://www.theaudiodb.com/api/v1/json/661967d832023247153984/ratings-track.php?user=rateyourmusic

...

18:43:10.000 T:9692   DEBUG: script.theaudiodb.sync: Found matching album Sonic Highways (rating: 5)
18:43:10.005 T:9692   DEBUG: script.theaudiodb.sync: updateLibraryAlbumRatings: updating albumid 2 with, "rating": 7, "userrating": 5
18:43:10.008 T:9692   DEBUG: SELECT albumview.*,albumartistview.*  FROM albumview  JOIN albumartistview ON albumview.idAlbum = albumartistview.idAlbum  WHERE albumview.idAlbum = 2  ORDER BY albumartistview.iOrder
18:43:10.009 T:9692   DEBUG: SELECT albuminfosong.*  FROM albuminfosong  WHERE idAlbumInfo = 2  ORDER BY iTrack


Do you happen to have a log file I can look at?

(This setting had both Track and Album Download - and no upload set)

Thanks
Rob

Hallucyn8
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:42 pm

Re: TheAudioDBSync Support Thread

Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:16 pm

I've not been around much recently but have now updated to the latest version of the addon (still showing as 1.0.8) and although the synchronization is still running I can already see some of my ratings have been added to my TheAudioDB profile. I seem to only be getting the "None" pop up where the track does not exist on TheAudioDB which I would expect is what I should be seeing and is a good prompt for me to get them added :)

One final question for now, just for my own understanding, presumably my rating will be updated against all tracks in TheAudioDB that have the same MusicBrainz ID regardless of whether I actually have that particular release or not?

E.g. out of the following I have the first two in my collection but not the third but I have the same rating against all three in my profile?

  • The Prodigy - Experience - Out of Space
  • The Prodigy - Their Law: The Singles 1990-2005 - Out of Space
  • The Prodigy - Out of Space (The Very Best) - Out of Space

Thanks for the work guys :)

User avatar
robwebset
Site Mod
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: TheAudioDBSync Support Thread

Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:40 pm

robwebset wrote:Disabling the username is trickier than it sounds - it was sort of designed that the username must always be set before anything will start.


Just a thought - one option is if the user has:

1) No username set
2) The downloads set for a "Specialist user"

Then we could automatically set the username to the "Specialist User"

What do you think.
Rob

User avatar
zag
Site Admin
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:43 am

Re: TheAudioDBSync Support Thread

Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:00 pm

Apologies for the delay, I wanted to test this properly.

I think I found the error. When you select use Specialist user and don't change the username, it doesn't save it to the settings file.

Image

You need to actually hit the up and down arrows at least once to save the username. It then works fine after doing that. Perhaps the fix is to add a dummy user such as "..." or "please choose".

Regarding your question above, yes maybe we should just default to a specialist user if no username is set, although this may need some kind of warning that it may overwrite current scores in your database.

Return to “Add-ons”